Accreditation at the University of Fredericton

The University of Fredericton is a fully designated degree-granting university offering MBA and EMBA Programs under Section 3 of the Degree Granting Act of the Province of New Brunswick in Canada.

Its MBA and EMBA programs were designated by the New Brunswick Minister of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour on April 10, 2007. Programs and institutional assessments in New Brunswick are carried out at the request of the Minister by the Maritime Provinces Higher Education Commission (MPHEC), an agency of the Council of Maritime Premiers. In carrying out its main functions, the Commission focuses primarily on university education.

University education in Canada is the responsibility of each province, and not the federal government, and designation as a degree-granting university under a Degree Granting Act of a Province is equivalent in Canada to regional accreditation in the U.S.

Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs

The University of Fredericton is a candidate for ACBSP accreditation of business programs offered through the Sandermoen School of Business. The business programs at the University of Fredericton have been fully accredited by the Province of New Brunswick since 2007. The ACBSP accreditation will stand in addition to the provincial accreditation.

Established in 1988, ACBSP is the only organization offering specialized business accreditation for all degree levels, from associate to baccalaureate to doctoral degree programs. ACBSP accreditation certifies that the teaching and learning processes within the business programs offered at University of Fredericton Sandermoen School of Business meet the rigorous educational standards established by ACBSP.